Of books and reading books.

I’m a book lover; I have been ever since I laid hands on one. There’s just something about books that makes me feel great, something about the words, and the scenes that come into my head. It’s addictive. If I have a vice, it’s reading.

Lately, I haven’t been much of a reader. Much of the time I have is either spent on boring college classes or the Internet. But through my Internet surfing, I recently discovered Readernaut.com (see my profile here), which is kind of like Last.fm, except it’s about the books you’ve read, books you are currently reading, books that you plan to read, etc. I think it’s pretty smart and all, to have a site like that, so my hat goes off to whoever made it.

This weekend I bought two books: the first by one of my favorite authors of all time, and the second by an author I don’t quite know.

This isn't the cover of the one I bought (I'm too lazy to take a photo of it) but for the sake of having a picture, this'll do.

A Tale of Two Cities, the first book, is required reading for my sociology elective on Collective Behavior this semester. I’ve read only about two pages and I can say that it’ll probably be a serious read. But then again, of course it is, because it’s about the French Revolution. My professor wants us to understand the things that propelled the people to revolt and the things they did in the revolution. All the reasons why I never read or bought the book before. However, I love Charles Dickens [A Christmas Carol is the only complete and unabridged novel of his I ever read, but I read abridged versions of David Copperfield (my first Dickens), Great Expectations (who can forget Estella and Miss Havisham?), and Oliver Twist (“Please sir, I want some more.”) all throughout elementary and high school.] so I’m gonna give this hugely popular book of his a chance.

This is exactly the cover of the one I bought.

The second book I bought is Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. I was planning on getting The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, which I have an ebook of, but I couldn’t find it at the bookstore so I got this instead. Actually, it was a toss-up between this and The Kite Runner, but the synopsis at the back of this thin but slightly more expensive book captured me. Lately, I’ve been missing people who aren’t really part of my life anymore, so reading about someone who reconnects with people from her past might be fun. I don’t know when I’ll start reading it. Truth be told, I want to begin right now, but a part of me feels like I should focus on A Tale of Two Cities first, since, by circumstances, it’s much more important. Also, I think that if I read this book first, I’ll lose free time to read A Tale of Two Cities. Not that these books are particularly thick, but it’s August already and I have a thousand things to do. I haven’t removed the plastic cover yet so I won’t be tempted. But whatever. I feel like I’ll give in to temptation anyway.

0 Responses to “Of books and reading books.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About This Blog

So you've stumbled upon my blog. There's nothing special here unless you're into learning about my twisted mind.

Archives

Categories


Read the Printed Word!

Recently Played

musiclover65884's Profile Page

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

  • 1,559 hits

