A Reader’s Digest:

I don’t understand why most of the covers of Reader’s Digest Asia have been photos of celebrities.

I know it must be a marketing strategy. Naturally. Plus I heard once in my journalism class that covers with people on them are more appealing than covers without people on them. Something about that human interest element. But I don’t think, based on this, that the humans on a cover have to be famous people. I mean, look at the February 2010 issue:

(Photo by yours truly–I couldn’t find this on the net. Sorry about the shade of pink on the top left-hand corner.)

See, you don’t really know who they are, but the cover has the human factor in it anyway. PLUS the reason why this is the cover is they tackle love between people of different races and nationalities in this issue. That is much more development-oriented, or nearer to development journalism, than all those articles about Charice or Vice Ganda, even if they are doing some humor special on Asian comedians.

SIGH. Then again, this issue (February 2010) didn’t get much sales–I gather this from the tie-in pricing technique RD has been doing. That is, they’ve been selling new issues together with this old one. That’s made it hard for me to buy a new issue, since I already have this one. 😐

0 Responses to “A Reader’s Digest:”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About This Blog

So you've stumbled upon my blog. There's nothing special here unless you're into learning about my twisted mind.

Archives

Categories


Read the Printed Word!

Recently Played

musiclover65884's Profile Page

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

  • 1,560 hits

