What child is this.

Facebook has become a huge cartoon show where Disney, Nickelodeon, Cartoon Network, and anime, among others, converge.

See, there’s this thing going on and users are changing their profile pictures to their favorite cartoon characters for violence against children. I don’t really get how that can help squeeze down the incidence of the issue, so I was skeptical about the whole thing at first. Besides, I don’t think anyone really knows where the information came from, everyone was just reiterating each other (“Change your facebook profile picture to a cartoon from your childhood and invite your friends to do the same. Until monday (December 6) there should be no human faces on facebook, but an invasion of memories. This is for violence against children”). But then I started wondering who my favorite cartoon was, and I ended up joining the bandwagon.

I hate playing favorites, because I seldom have only one. There are just too many things to love in the world. But anyway, I chose Pepper Ann as a favorite character yesterday, basically because she was no one else’s photo, and I really like her. I can’t tell, though, what it is about her I admire.

Other contenders for my profile picture were Arnold and Helga from Hey Arnold, Ginger from As Told By Ginger, Timon from The Lion King, Belle from Beauty and the Beast, Meg from Hercules, Bugs Bunny, Donald Duck, Sailor Moon, and finally, Mulan (because I totally admire her bravery). But everyone else had chosen them already, and I wanted to be different.

Tonight I replaced Pepper Ann with Arthur (the aardvark), who kept my eight-year-old self pleasantly entertained after every day of school. I used to have a poster of the show in my old room, a little something I got from purchasing one of the book adaptations. I don’t have it with me anymore, but I think I have a photo of it somewhere.

——-

A while ago I realized my childhood has long passed me. I’m 19, going on 20, after all. But I had a spectacular kid life that never ceases to make me feel grateful. And I treasure it, and I miss it. And someday I hope to make a kid’s childhood as memorable as mine, because I know not everyone can be as privileged as I was.

0 Responses to “What child is this.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About This Blog

So you've stumbled upon my blog. There's nothing special here unless you're into learning about my twisted mind.

Archives

Categories


Read the Printed Word!

Recently Played

musiclover65884's Profile Page

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

  • 1,559 hits

